Days 136 – 144: Stateside for a Quick Minute

Having promised long before our move that he would be a groomsman in the wedding of one of his good high school friends, Michael needed to return to Houston the first week of November for the wedding festivities. And me? I didn’t need to be there per se… but I wanted to go! I love weddings and I love the United States. So, we hopped on a plane for 23 hours and ended up in Houston. It was already evening by the time we arrived and it took all the energy we could muster to stay awake and visit with my mother-in-law, who had so thoughtfully picked up Tex Mex (our favorite!) for dinner.

The Rossow's with their Ladybug

The Rossow's with their Ladybug

After a day of shopping in Houston (yay for American prices!) with Michael and his mom, I packed a smaller bag for my morning flight to Michigan to visit my family and friends. It was Halloween day and my good friend Molly picked me up from the airport with her 5 month-old daughter all dressed up as a ladybug. So. Freaking. Adorable!! I spent two days in the Detroit area visiting good friends, drinking fresh pressed apple cider, and hanging out with the sweetest little 5 month-old baby. Next, I went to the other side of the state and got to spend 2 more days in the great state of Michigan hanging out with my mom and dad. While at my parents’ house, I got a bonus visit from my Aunt, Grandma, and cousins! It was so wonderful to be back in Michigan and visit with so many of my favorite people. I’m looking forward to the Christmas holiday – I’ll get a whole three weeks there and will get to visit with everyone I missed on this short trip.

Momma and Cassie

Momma and Cassie

Daddy (beardy), his new kitchen, and Cassie

Daddy (beardy), his new kitchen, and Cassie

My flight back to Houston was Thursday evening, and Michael picked me up from the airport and we went straight to visit the Leigh’s, our good friends who we hadn’t seen in over a year. Jen and Jared moved to Moscow and then to the Netherlands last year, and moved back to the US just months after we moved to Singapore. We kept missing them both in Houston and in Michigan (Jen is from the mitten state, too!) and we were so happy to finally catch up with them on our one free night in Houston.

Friday evening was the rehearsal dinner for Payton and Katherine’s wedding and we finally got to see all of Michael’s high school friends who were going to be a part of the wedding. After a quick practice at the church, we all headed to dinner at Rico’s – more Tex Mex! The wedding on Saturday was just beautiful. Katherine was a stunning bride and Payton looked so happy throughout the whole evening. We enjoyed the evening’s celebrations, albeit quite tamely since we needed to catch an early flight back to Singapore the following morning. It was a quick trip, but I’m so glad we went! Congratulations to Payton and Katherine – we’re so happy for you two!

Fall on Norwood Avenue

Fall on Norwood Avenue

More Photos!

Leave a Reply

